Romania 2014 part 1

After exploring Budapest and a 3-hour car ride, we arrived in Ususău on July 5, 2014. We were greeted by family, and after being kissed by them on both cheeks, we went to bed, exhausted from our travels.

romania-2014-9
long exposure night photography

We spent the next day hanging out around the village, and reuniting with those we had met the year before. My friends and I had a blast using glow sticks to make art with long exposure photography that night.

A couple days later, we visited my aunt and uncle in Lipova, and together with a bunch of other family members we went to Șofronea, where there are geothermal pools. I don’t have pictures from there, because in Europe not everyone believes in wearing bathing suits.

romania-2014
Ususău
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Ususău
romania-2014-16
Ususău
romania-2014-14
Ususău
romania-2014-1
Ususău
romania-2014-2
Ususău
romania-2014-11
Ususău

Back in Ususău, we hung out with my cousins and their friends. I had brought my Penny board with me, and I taught them all how to skateboard.

romania-2014-10
my uncle’s house
romania-2014-2
my grandmother’s gate
romania-2014-15
corn field

My uncle was busy building the second story on his house, and 0ne of my cousins from Arad came to work for him. My sister got all into construction, and for a couple days, my cousins and her could only be found up there. While she did manual labor, I helped my aunt and grandmother in the house and out in the fields.

romania-2014-3
bonfire

We had a barbecue one night tried to cook mititei, but something went wrong and we filled the whole village with smoke.

romania-2014-19
Gara Radna
romania-2014-8
Gara Radna
romania-2014-7
Gara Radna

My grandfather on my mother’s side came to visit us from Craiova for two days. He got to preach in the church in Ususău that night. After spending the next day with us, it was time for him to leave, so we dropped him off at the train station in Radna, near Lipova.

After dropping him off, our uncle drove us to Pancota, where we spent the next 10 days.

 

All pictures taken by me with a Canon T3

 

5 thoughts on “Romania 2014 part 1

Leave a Reply

