Chilhowee

Before moving to Tennessee, I had never heard that name before. I knew of the Smoky Mountains, of course, and I knew Cleveland, TN was located near some sort of mountains, but my geography only reached so far. Then all of a sudden I kept hearing people talking of going to “Chilhowee.” I don’t know about you, but when I hear a strange word like that, I need to pull out my phone and Google it. Google told me that it was a mountain on the outer edge of the Smokies, and actually, not too far from me. Since the beginning of the school year, friends and I have visited it quite a number of times.

Chilhowee 1
Benton Falls
Chilhowee 2
Chilhowee
DCIM100GOPROGOPR2510.
Chilhowee
Chilhowee 4
Benton Falls Trail

Last September, we went hiking in the fall on the Benton Falls trail, hoping to see the waterfall. Due to the drought that had hit Tennessee at that time, the waterfall had dried up and was mostly just a trickle. It was sorta sad to not find a waterfall at the end of the trail, but we still had a fun time.

Chilhowee 1
Chilhowee Overlook
Chilhowee 2
Chilhowee Overlook

Last week a friend and I took a spontaneous road trip, intending to just have fun and take pictures. We ended up at Chilhowee, and drove up the mountain to take pictures from the overlook. It was a beautifully cold day, with clear skies that allowed us to see for miles in all directions.

Leave a Reply

